Very Cheap Road Bike or Single-speed Road Bike????

cyclist95

Jul 21, 2009
Hey guys,

Im new to this forum and also new to road biking. I have a Schwinn Super Sport, but I am just not sure it will hold up too much longer and was thinking about getting a road bike.

My budget is only $500 (yes I know, that wont get me a very decent road bike) because I am a student with no job. I was searching the internet when I stumbled upon two very very very cheap bikes on Amazon.com. The one, a GMC Denali, the other a Schwinn Prelude. Links Below

[ame="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000FDDWB6/ref=s9_simz_gw_s1_p200_i3?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=0REWXG06VCGGAWPEFF02&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=470938631&pf_rd_i=507846"]Amazon.com: GMC Denali Road Bike: Sports & Outdoors[/ame]

[ame="http://www.amazon.com/Schwinn-Prelude-Mens-Road-Wheels/dp/B000KZ1GHQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=sporting-goods&qid=1248207909&sr=1-1"]Amazon.com: Schwinn Prelude Men's Road Bike (700c Wheels): Sports & Outdoors[/ame]

Now, the only alternative I was thinking of was getting a Single-Speed Road Bike, but am not sure if they are good for maintaining a high speed.

So guys I need your help, GMC Denali, or Schwinn Prelude. Or screw those, a single-speed road bike. :confused:

Thanks guys,
Matt

cyclist95 said:
I have a Schwinn Super Sport, but I am just not sure it will hold up too much longer and was thinking about getting a road bike.

My budget is only $500 (yes I know, that wont get me a very decent road bike) because I am a student with no job. I was searching the internet when I stumbled upon two very very very cheap bikes on Amazon.com. The one, a GMC Denali, the other a Schwinn Prelude.

Now, the only alternative I was thinking of was getting a Single-Speed Road Bike, but am not sure if they are good for maintaining a high speed.

So guys I need your help, GMC Denali, or Schwinn Prelude. Or screw those, a single-speed road bike.