Very frustrated...

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by trinitykuo00, Jul 25, 2004.

1. trinitykuo00

trinitykuo00 New Member

Hi! I've been shopping for a hybrid for weeks now and I've narrowed it down to three bikes, the Trek 7200 (hybrid), the Trek 4100 (mtb), Giant Sedona DX (hybrid)... Having never gotten a good bike, I have absolutely no experience whatsoever and would really, really appreciate some advice on which is the better value, and I'd like to spend the least amount possible. I can probably buy the Trek 7200 for $350 while the Giant Sedona DX costs about $330, and the Trek 4100 (mtb with tires more suitable for the road) runs at about $330. I'm planning on riding 20 or or so miles a week, but being only 16, spending $400 is pretty much using all the money I've been saving for the past three years, so a road bike is out of the question. Even spending $400 stretches my tiny budget and is more double my starting budget. :( However, I'd still like to get a decent bike and I'm riding in a 26 mile leisure ride in October with my new bike.

Also, I'm...err...vertically challenged at only 5'2...and I'm not used to riding bigger bikes... :mad: which is why the Trek 4100 appeals to me, the smaller sizes. A big concern is if a frame size of 15 for the Trek 7200 would be too big for me. Should I spring for the Trek 7100 or the Sedona DX simply for the smaller sizes?

Sorry for the long-ish post...thanks in advance for your help! :D

Tags:

2. daveornee

daveornee New Member

Fit is the most important thing.
    Physically fitting frame size should be your first concern.
    You will soon forget the $20 either way if the bicycle fits you right.
    The type of bicycle should also be suitable for the type of riding you intend.

3. Zer0hmz

Zer0hmz New Member