VO max wont improve

G

Can some one explain to me why my VOmax wont improve ? I use my Polar S510 to do a fitness test wich give you your max heart rate and VOmax. Now I measured mine 4 weeks ago and then again last night. Guess what. No improvement.

Now I've been training twice a day for the last 2 months and there is no improvement. How does this happen ?

VO2 max is basically genetic. training will only improve it by about 10%. If you've been training for a number of years already then VO2max is unlikely to improve much further.

another point is that VO2 max starts to decline after the age of about 18.

bad luck ;).

regular training stops the decline being quite so rapid though.

what is debatable though is how useful VO2max is as a fperformance predictor - most research suggests it's pretty hit and miss.

Performance is predominantly determined by how hard you can go for a prolonged length of time. this is level is known as the anaerobic threshold (AT) - go much above threshold and lactic acid will accumulate rapidly and you'll have to slow down.
whats nice to know is that training (especially specific interval training ;D) will improve your AT.

think about it like this.
2 riders, rider 1 has a VO2max of 80ml/kg/min and his AT is at 50% VO2max. that means he can ride comfortably for a long period of time using Oxygen at a rate of 40ml/kg/min

rider 2 has a VO2max of 60ml/kg/min and his AT is at 90% of VO2 max. He can therefore comfortably ride for a prolonged period of time using O2 at a rate of 54ml/kg/min.

who's going to post a better time in a 40km time trial?

yep, you guessed it, rider 2: despite his lower VO2 max, he can maintain a much higher pace than rider 1 due to his higher AT.

If you want to know all the physiology behind VO2max i could probably explain it to you but to be honest, it's pretty superfluous to what you really need to know - that VO2 max doesn't improve much with training, but AT will.