Volae Report

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Dave Harney

Some of you may recall that I bought a Volae Club about the 1st of July. I'm 64 and never rode a
recumbent before the Volae. I've been riding a DF for nearly 30 years. I had so many body parts
producing pain (lower back, neck, hands, knees) that biking was no longer much fun. I reluctantly
decided to try a recumbent to see if I could get some relief and ride a few more years. Never cared
much for the idea of a recumbent.

My first experiences with the Volae were nothing short of humiliating. I was flopping all over a
parking lot like a fish out of water. Once out on the road, I promptly went into the ditch and then
crashed on the first diagonal railroad track. I was pretty sure I'd made a very expensive mistake.

I now have about 1500 miles on this contraption and I love it. I rode the Wisconsin 150 mile (2
days) Best Dam Bike Tour and managed about a 14.5 mph average in spite of some pretty impressive
hills and a nasty headwind on the first day. Yesterday, I rode a very hilly 68 mile club ride and
managed to keep up with the "boys" for the first time.

I have zero pain in all the places I complained about before - although foot numbness is still an
issue (I'll give a progress report on this another day). I feel about 85% confident (compared to my
DF) in city traffic, but 100% on the open road. My hill climbing is still a bit slow but seems to be
gradually improving. Downhills are awesome, and headwinds are much less of a problem. Overall I've
picked up about 2 (maybe 2.5) mph on my average speed. I really like the view from the laid back
position. I also like the fact that the Volae doesn't look like a senior citizen bike or feel clunky
in anyway - it is a really spirited machine. However, rough roads do telegraph into my backside much
more than my DF did. I would still like a 25c tire width, but the 23c tires that come with the bike