Wal Mart Bikes which is better for me?

psykel78

Sep 19, 2006
Hello i am totally new to cycling. I am debating whether to order a schwinn varsity from walmart which the frame is like 55 cm. The GMC denali which the frame is 57 cm inches from walmart. Or the gmc denali xl which is 57.5 cm available from amazon. My height is 6 feet 0 inches and I weigh 200 pounds even. What is the best fit for my height?

Is the schwinn varsity good for my height?

thanks looking for some experts to chime in.

psykel78 said:
I want a personal opinion. from experience
You have not provided enough information to get an informed opinion. Height and weight are not that informative. The link Scotty gave is a good starting point. Things like inseam length, arm length, torso length, and even shoe size all come into play. Also, less objective measures, such as flexibility, come into play.

For what it is worth, I am 6'0" and weigh 192 lbs, but I have short legs and arms for my height (30" inseam and 33" sleeves). I ride a 56 cm Specialized Roubaix Elite, but to make it work, I had to exchange the stock 120 mm stem for a 110 mm stem.

Getting the correct fit on a bicycle is critical to your ability to enjoy the cycling experience. For this reason, buying a bike from Wal Mart or Amazon does not make sense.

Don't buy a Varsity or a Denali. You will soon wear out the rear axle if you weigh 200. It's a bad design.

garage sale GT said:
Don't buy a Varsity or a Denali. You will soon wear out the rear axle if you weigh 200. It's a bad design.
i have a 32 inseam and 28 inch reach. guess my reach and inseam are small for my height.

psykel78 said:

I don't think there is a lot of personal experience with Wal-Mart JUNK around here. Try a childrens chat-room.

Xsmoker said:
I don't think there is a lot of personal experience with Wal-Mart JUNK around here. Try a childrens chat-room.