WALGOOSE and RECOMMENDATIONS

Warhen

Aug 15, 2005
Hi all,
This is my first post and second time to Cycling Forums. I'm a former bike pro, two years in retail and two years as a tour leader for Bike Vermont.

I hope to get some help from you! OK, I admit it- though I despise Wallyworld and its politics, I was attracted to the XR200 Walgoose. Three things:

1. I am extremely poor now
2. I've not read a cycing magazine in many years
3. I was a roadie with limited MTB experience

With that said, I'd like to get a MTB because I'm up three miles of tough gravel roads and need one to get back into riding. I won't be riding more than some woodland trails and gravel/asphalt road and have no delusions of grandeur.

So, is the Walgoose frame truly THAT bad? In my dated, but informed eye, I saw a TIG-welded aluminum frame, MOZO fork, and rear shock, mid-point Shimano derailleurs and cantilever and disk brakes, alloy wheels, Grip Shift brand shifters. Could someone quantify how bad it is?

If so, what is the cheapest, reasonable quality bike I should look at? In my retial days, it would've been Specialized or Giant. And/or, what is a good resource for scoring a nice used bike, eBay, etc? I seriously cannot spend more than a few hundred right now but don't want a piece of trash either.

Thank you so much! Feel free to write directly.

Truly, Warren

Don't buy the "Walgoose". It's a cheap frame, **** components, and probably assembled by a part-time high school student. End of story.