WANTED: Shimano Sante headset/170 cranks &...

CJ Smith

Sep 11, 2006
This is CJ from Palm Harbor, FL. I am a newbie here that is really enjoying the site so far.

I'm a merchant mariner by trade by a pro cyclist in my mind like so many of us out here, LOL! I have to get Phil, Bob, Al & Paul to stop announcing my name as I ride, especially since I am the only one that can hear it!

39 y.o., male on the verge of 40 in December (yep now you have to send me a card dang-nabbit!). New Jersey by birth, Floridian by Lat./Lon. Wannabe personal trainer. Lover of hiking: Completer of 37 of the 50 state high points & all of the Catskill 3500 Club requirements. I dig National Parks, sunsets, friendly animals and a decent cup of peppermint tea. I am free of caffiene, chocolate, alcohol, drugs & red meat.

On the serious side (which I seldom am), I am also enjoying a rebuild project. My current one is a 1989 Kestrel 4000 (Gray Graphics). My restoration goal is to have the completed bike EXACTLY as it was when it rolled out of B&L BIke & Sport in Kailua Kona Hawaii on May 9, 1989.

HELP!!! I am struggling to find several items.
170 mm Shimano Sante Cranks
1" Shimano Sante Headset
1 Mavic Open 4 CD rim - 36 hole
Hoshi Spokes (I have been told that the length I need is 280mm)

The pedals: What was originally on the bike was a pair of LOOK pedals, but I need help here with the model # or name. They were white with a red "hinge (White lettering on the hinge)" & plastic end cap... Oh! I think they were called P166. Does that sound familiar to anyone?

:eek: ALL Items sought need to be MINT (or very near MINT), N.O.S. :eek:

Well that should tell you what type of person I am, but why would I want to build this bike?