Warner Center GP

Discussion in 'Road Cycling' started by Yellowjerseyinc, May 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Health Net Warner Center Grand Prix

    By Jaime Nichols Date: 05/26/03 Health Net Warner Center Grand Prix

    Woodland Hills, CA - 05/25/2003 - Southern California's Warner Center Grand Prix kicked off today
    with a star studded field and when LA City Councilman Dennis Zine got things underway to an
    aggressive start with Schroeder Iron attacking hard from the gun on a wide open, dead flat .9 mile
    circuit under gray skies. The 12th annual running of the race saw it's strongest field this year,
    including a full Health Net Team with US racing's sure thing, Gord Fraser, at the helm, Prime
    Alliance's Matt Decanio, Saturn's Ivan Dominguez and Rahsaan Bahati, Harm Jansen, the flying
    Dutchman, riding for RPM, and good representation from the Schroeder Iron team.

    It was Schroeder Iron's Jacob Erker and Evan Teske who put the hammer down first, and after lap one,
    Erker carried forward, joined in an early break by Health Net's Mike Sayers and a Honeywell rider.
    The trio worked together, staying away for a good part of the race, with the only real chase being
    offered by local team KB Home, who did not have the horsepower to bring back a strong break, after
    attempts by Saturn's Ivan Dominguez to get the ball rolling were denied by Health Net and Schroeder
    riders with no interest in a pursuit.

    Jacob Erker leads the first break

    With Dominguez and Prime Alliance's Matt Decanio taking up residence firmly in last place, a few
    half-hearted chase attempts at the head of the peloton proved fruitless, until Team Monex's Thurlow
    Rogers put in a hard turn at the front on behalf of their sprinter, Gregg Mendenilla. Rogers' hard
    turn at the front narrowed the gap, and before long, the break was caught and countered by Schroeder
    Iron's Adam Livingston and Pete Knudsen, drilling it hard up the backstretch, followed by Rogers and
    Mike Sayers.

    The day's second break solidified out of that move, containing Schroeder's Knudsen, Livingston, and
    Rigo Meza, along with Health Net's Mike Sayers and an Australian World Champion pursuiter, riding
    with Wells Fargo Squadra Carrera. That break got a good gap, and with about 20 minutes to go,
    Saturn's Ivan Dominguez made his presence felt with a very hot chase, aided by Prime Alliance's Matt
    Decanio and Team Monex's Ken Toman. Sierra Nevada's speedster, Daniel Ramsey, made an attempt to
    bridge, but the hard charging field succeeded in bringing it all back together for the bunch sprint.

    With three to go, Health Net had organized on the front for their closer, Gord Fraser, whose
    teammates gave him a nice gap coming into the last corner. Fraser took the victory by a generous
    margin over Jelly Belly's fast Australian, Brent Dawson, and Schroeder Iron's Evan Teske, who took
    his podium placing despite having broken his collarbone only a few weeks earlier.

    "It was a pretty hard race," said Fraser, "a lot harder than I thought it was going to be. There was
    some very aggressive racing, especially from Schroeder Iron, who were missing their top sprinter,
    Miguel Meza, and had an interest in breaking it up today."

    Fraser had praise for his Health Net teammates, especially Sayers, who made his presence felt in
    every break. "Mike Sayers was in every break, today. I had to do a little work, but every time a
    break went up the road, I was comforted that my teammate was there."

    No stranger to the top block, Fraser was asked by local cable reporters covering the event how many
    career victories he has had. The Warner Center Grand Prix marks his 10th victory this year, and he
    estimates it's his 105th career win.

    Health Net Warner Center Grand Prix - WARNER CENTER GRAND PRIX --- May 25, 2003 OFFICIAL RACE
    RESULTS - 2003

    1. Butch Stinton Labor Power
    2. Arnie Baker S.D. Cyclovets
    3. Carlos Soto Simply Fit
    4. Clive Dawson Veloce
    5. Tito Del Cid LA Wings
    6. Rocco Orsini Helen's

    7. Butch Stinton Labor Power
    8. Mike Gourien Tangelo Velo
    9. Clive Dawson Veloce
    10. John Kuhn Team One
    11. Mark Chrysler DARE
    12. Rick Gill Labor Power

    Womens 3-4
    13. Maegan Merrifield Amgen
    14. Susan Thompson Team Adelante
    15. Corinn Clark-Danielli So. Bay Wheelmen
    16. Irene Johnson Santa Clarita Velo
    17. Lauren Beastall S.C. Velo
    18. Jane Shearing-Skalak S.C. Velo

    19. Rich Meeker U.S. Postal Service
    20. Craig Miller Cozmics
    21. Thurlow Rogers JAX
    22. Steven Strickler Labor Power
    23. John Wordin Monex/Hot Wheels
    24. Claude Islamabert DARE/P.S. Velo

    25. Craig Miller Cozmics
    26. Rich Meeker U.S. Postal Service
    27. Scott Raymond Cozmics
    28. Steven Strickler Labor Power
    29. Thurlow Rogers JAX
    30. Steve Nadon Helen's
    31. John Wordin Monex/Hot Wheels

    Cat. 4-5
    32. Tim Coleman I.E. Bike Racing
    33. Greg Lindlahr Minute Maid/Dasani
    34. Cody O'Reilly Echelon
    35. Jonathan Rocque Team Indigo
    36. Stephen Feretti So. Cal. Velo
    37. Jason Mauer Unattached

    Cat. 3
    38. Jordan Hudet Zombies
    39. Billy Cubillas Zombies
    40. Jeremy Keller Minute Maid/Desani
    41. Emmanuel Gomez Budget Cycles
    42. Nathan Loyal Helen's
    43. Jeff Theis

    30+ 3-4
    44. Daniel Vinson S.C. Velo
    45. Trent Malone Team One
    46. Stephen Ferretti S. C. Velo
    47. Richard Mitchell, Jr. Riverside Cycle
    48. Jason Mauer Unattached
    49. Craig Webb S.C. Velo

    Women 1-3
    50. Desira Utzig Minute Maid/Dasani
    51. Rebecca Quinn Vaniga/Big 5
    52. Cheryl Roth Helen's/Trek VW
    53. Laura Downey Minute Maid/Dasani
    54. Cynthia Marse Helen's Trek/VW
    55. Wendy Kuhn Team One

    Pro 1/2
    56. Gord Fraser Health Net
    57. Brent Dawson Jelly Belly
    58. Evan Teske Schroeder Iron
    59. Harm Jansen RPM
    60. Marco Antonio
    61. Rahsann Bahati Saturn
    62. Victor Ayala Minute Maid/Dasani
    63. John Wike Labor Power
    64. Edgar Yepez Downey Eagles
    65. Robert Kamppila KB Home
    66. Peter Armitage KB Home
    67. Anthony Galvan KB Home

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.