Weakness in Left hand

obxbes

Mar 9, 2005
About 4 months ago I had surgery for a compressed ulnar nerve. Symptons were numbness in the tips of my left pinkie and ring finger and loss of strength in my left hand. Six weeks after the surgery I had lost the numbness and gotten almost full strength back in my hand. My surgeon was amazed that the strength had returned. I wasn't able to ride for 3 weeks while I had a cast on. I started riding again 50 -70 miles a week. At this time the numbness is still gone but my left hand weakness is returning. Can this be riding related.

obxbes said:
About 4 months ago I had surgery for a compressed ulnar nerve. Symptons were numbness in the tips of my left pinkie and ring finger and loss of strength in my left hand. Six weeks after the surgery I had lost the numbness and gotten almost full strength back in my hand. My surgeon was amazed that the strength had returned. I wasn't able to ride for 3 weeks while I had a cast on. I started riding again 50 -70 miles a week. At this time the numbness is still gone but my left hand weakness is returning. Can this be riding related.
Talk to your doctor again.

I have a recurring tenderness in my left wrist that I'm certain is related to cycling. Ocassionally, I have to put on one of the menthol type pads they sell in the pharmacy to make the soreness leave.

I have a worse time with it when I use the mountain bike, as I think I may actually hit a lot more hard bumps on that one. I don't know if it's the same type thing as you're experiencing or not. Cycling is hard on the hands and wrists.

Good luck.

Hmmm. I wonder what caused this. Well at least you had a quick recovery. Good for you.