Weapons an Cycling

jhuskey

Oct 6, 2003
Many topics have been posted about bad drivers and encounters with offensive individuals. I was wondering how many people carry a weapon or have considered it for self defense or otherwise. I don't because I would probably end up using it and case great complications for myself.

I have twin mounted mini-guns on my bike, with a my back-up mortar launcher on the back rack just in case I need to take care of any aggressive volvo drivers. I pack a Magnum 44 in my jersey for when I'm off the bike - you can never be too careful.

Nice.

I have never carried a weapon -- Oh, I take that back, when I got pulled over two nights in a row in my car a few years back, and I didn't have insurance, I was told I would be arrested if I got caught again. So I started riding my bike. The problem was, I worked at UPS and started at 3:00AM. I had to go through a very bad part of town, so I wore my 9mm Smith & Wesson on my hip. No lie. I live in Arizona and anyone can wear a gun without a liscense if it is visible. I never had any trouble, thank goodness.

However, after reading all of the posts about being chased by dogs (I get chased one in awhile) and I still ride before light, I was thinking about investing in some mace. In fact, now that I think about it, where I ride to work, (I could drive now if I wanted to BTW, and did for a long time, but I choose to ride, It's good for the heart) most of the folks out walking for exercise carry sticks, so they must be worried about something, perhaps I should be also. (The 9mm is probably overkill, and back then I wore jean shorts when I rode, it would be a little hard to carry and handgun with my bike shorts, they don't come with belt loops)

b1_ said:
I have twin mounted mini-guns on my bike, with a my back-up mortar launcher on the back rack just in case I need to take care of any aggressive volvo drivers. I pack a Magnum 44 in my jersey for when I'm off the bike - you can never be too careful.