Website for common dishes and their ingedients?

Discussion in 'Food and nutrition' started by Sudy, Feb 16, 2004.

1. Sudy

Sudy Guest

Hi

Because of food intolerances, I've got to check what's in your average dish- all of them
    basically. I'm really a novice at cooking, so lack the experience to know what most well-known
    dishes actually contain.

Would any one know of websites that lists just the more common dishes from around the world and
    their (usual) ingredients?

Thanks in advance Sudy

[Re-sent because my previous post might not have reached]

Tags:

2. Mraod

Mraod Guest

(Sudy) writes:
    >
    >Hi
    >
    >Because of food intolerances, I've got to check what's in your average dish- all of them
    >basically. I'm really a novice at cooking, so lack the experience to know what most well-known
    >dishes actually contain.
    >

What kind of food intolerances, and how severe?

>Would any one know of websites that lists just the more common dishes from around the world and
    >their (usual) ingredients?

Nope, that's a gleaning expedition. If you've got celiac disease, or are lactose intolerant,
    hypoglycemic, the answers you're looking for will be found in different places.

Kinda like a library. ;-)

3. Frogleg

Frogleg Guest

On 10 Feb 2004 05:38:59 -0800, [email protected] (Sudy)
    wrote:

>Because of food intolerances, I've got to check what's in your average dish- all of them
    >basically. I'm really a novice at cooking, so lack the experience to know what most well-known
    >dishes actually contain.

Most contain the ingredients described in the recipe. If the recipe calls for a can of mushroom
    soup, the can of soup (in the US) includes a list of ingredients. Detailed analysis of thousands of
    food items can be found at:

http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/cgi-bin/nut_search.pl

If you have a particular intolerance, search on

"gluten free" recipes

"lactose intolerant" recipes

or

"disease/condition name" recipes