Weight loss, lets put it to the test

Fixey

Mar 9, 2004
Ok, I am going to do this simple method,

a) Reduce simple carbs
b) limit Fat as much as possible
c) keep comp. carbs fo a sensible lvl to give me energy to train (useing the old addage that Fat is burned in the flame of Cho.)
d) Do as many KM as humanly possible at about 70 - 80% lvl.

I weigh 120kg, I should wiegh 70 - 80kg acording to the Hieght weight scale, but I say thats bollocks....as a body builder I went on stage at 80.5 and I was gaunt to say the least, so im heading to 85 - 90kg.

It would be good if a few other tubbies about jumped in and tried differant methods at this point.

I want to see what 3 months will do.

Well, when I started cycling again after a long break (15 years), with some body building in between, I was VERY overweight (103kg, 27% bodyfat).

With lots of cycling and SENSIBLE eating (NO ATKINS **** OR OTHER FAD DIETS), I dropped down to 76kg and 10% bodyfat in three months.

Your goals are achievable, and you probably would lose about 20 to 25kg in three months (lean muscle mass WILL increase). As an ex body builder you should know - don't trust the scale, trust the tape measure!!!!

Yes, but is it likely I will increase muscle mass while doing so much aerobic activity? I never trust scales :) I trust the mirror, sounds silly but it is just as acurate as calliper tests imo. Would love to have access to a Submersion test though...

If you do stick to the diet and the cycling, I'd say about 0.5kg per week, or 1kg per week if you really push yourself.
So: 5-10kg is my vote.

Originally posted by Fixey
Yes, but is it likely I will increase muscle mass while doing so much aerobic activity? I never trust scales :) I trust the mirror, sounds silly but it is just as acurate as calliper tests imo. Would love to have access to a Submersion test though...