Weight Plateau - Shared Experiences

FrankBattle

May 9, 2005
There is nothing new under the sun. So, there must be others who have lived the weight plateau issue. I'm after the simple things you may done (not talking abject starvation). It would be nice too if you
1. have a 9-5 job
2. live in the northeast US
3. have a family or at least a wife
4. travel for work (and have a bike at home and at your destination)

My situation is that I'm not ovely crazy about my eating. I have not gained weight; and may have actually lost some by continuing to eat small meals (celery, carrots, etc) spread out over the day. Occassionally, I indulge when I know I'm riding over 50 miles the next day (weekends typically). I'm 6'3" 205 lbs. Generally fairly fit. I have not seen 190 since I graduated High School 17+ years ago. I lifted weights for some time, but switched to cycling/running in the off season early '04. Since 03, I have lost ~70 lbs. But I've been 205 for 1 year with substantial riding. It's not so much that I'm frustrated. I suppose if I had more time and were a racer or at least rode more, I'd drop more. But I think there are many more in my boat than not. I'm essentially just curious to see what folks have done.

My goal is 190 - 195. What I'm after is people who've done similar and what's worked for you ..

It took me around three years to finally loose the 5 lbs that I targeted for. I am currently at 165 lbs , not skinny by any terms for a 5'6" frame (I am quite muscular due to years of weightlifting), but had a small roll of fat around the obliques. Here is the things I did to accomplish it.

1. Started drinking more water on a daily basis.
2. eat a lot less bread
3. Drink a lot less beer during the weekends. (Drink wine instead but it small amounts)
4. I do less weight training as well and more aerobics. Weight training will make you very hungry.
5. More fruits and vegetables, less meat

FrankBattle said: