Weight Training Results How Quickly?

RACING RANDY

Sep 19, 2006
I am now in the gym 3X per week working on strengthing my lower abs, hamstrings, calves and upper legs/hips. The other two days, I am on my bike developing my endurance with 25 mile rides. 1X per week, I am at the bike shop on the Computrainer working with my Coach trying to improve my pedalling stroke which was found to have faults because of my previous bike which was not fitted correctly.

My question to the Group is this. When should I start noticing the increase in power due to the weight lifting in the gym and does this current schedule seem to be a good base for me to start racing next spring/summer?

I just started riding this past June and hired a Coach this past July. At first I could not finish the bike club rides every Wednesday evening. We would ride 20-25 miles with a average speed of 19-20mph. By the end of the summer, I was leading the pack and becoming stronger.

What do some of the readers do during off season to get them prepared for next years racing season.

My goal is to race next year. (Cat 5). But it isn't about just racing. It's about winning to me! Yes, I am having fun and I love watching my endurace improve but I want to know if it appears that I am "overdoing this" and if other riders started out just like me.

I am 40 years old and I weigh 200 lbs.

Thanks!

RACING RANDY said:
I am now in the gym 3X per week working on strengthing my lower abs, hamstrings, calves and upper legs/hips. The other two days, I am on my bike developing my endurance with 25 mile rides. 1X per week, I am at the bike shop on the Computrainer working with my Coach trying to improve my pedalling stroke which was found to have faults because of my previous bike which was not fitted correctly.