weird bike question...

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Benjamin Snyder, Jun 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi,

I just started riding an old bike, using an old cable combo lock to keep it safe. Well, today the
    combination stopped working and my bike is stuck at work. Is there any remedy short of calling a
    locksmith? It's really a crappy cable and since people are always talking about how easy it is for
    thieves to cut through it I was wondering how easy it would be for a non-thief.

All help is appreciated, [email protected]

(remove the physicist to send email).

Tags:

2. Dashi Toshii

Dashi Toshii Guest

"Benjamin Snyder" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...
    > Hi,
    >
    >
    > I just started riding an old bike, using an old cable combo lock to keep
    it safe.
    > Well, today the combination stopped working and my bike is stuck at work.
    Is there
    > any remedy short of calling a locksmith? It's really a crappy cable and
    since people are
    > always talking about how easy it is for thieves to cut through it I was
    wondering how
    > easy it would be for a non-thief.

Bolt cutters.

Dashii

3. On Tue, 24 Jun 2003 05:56:16 GMT, "Dashi Toshii" <[email protected]> wrote:
    >"Benjamin Snyder" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    >news:[email protected]...

>> I just started riding an old bike, using an old cable combo lock to keep
    >it safe.
    >> Well, today the combination stopped working and my bike is stuck at work.
    >Is there
    >> any remedy short of calling a locksmith? It's really a crappy cable and
    >since people are
    >> always talking about how easy it is for thieves to cut through it I was
    >wondering how
    >> easy it would be for a non-thief.
    >
    >Bolt cutters.

Bolt cutters in 3 seconds, or a leatherman or other wire cutter in a couple of minutes, by method of
    cutting the individual steel strands individually.