Well, I'd like opinions and ideas...

Discussion in 'The Bike Cafe' started by Xeys, Nov 9, 2003.

1. Xeys

Xeys New Member

After seriously spraining my ankle on a trail run today(musta been a root) I'm seriously thinking of committing to cycling fulltime and leave running alone. I had wanted to do some triathlons and some duathlons, but I think I'm gonna give up running altogether. I just enjoy riding my bike more. But I wantt o do lots of activities. Running was neat; I ran for almost the last 15 years, but I think that I need at least a long break. But I need a list of alternative bike riding I can do. I'm a little scared of road racing, because its kinda scary being in a pack, and I can't do all the little tricks like ride with no hands, and such. I have been riding for about 7 months now. I'd like to do some sort of bike event every weekend of the year, or at least be in a position to do one. I bought a mountain bike recently, and I'd like to do some racing. I guess. You see, I really don't care about winning anything, but I want the thrill of actually participating and feeling like I didn't embarass myself. Running was my outlet for that, because I at least was aveage. However, I suck at riding my bike. I love it, don't get me wrong, but I have no idea what I'm doing. I had tried this "keep your heart rate anearobic training" and it just seems to not be making me anybetter. Admittedly, my HR is lower on climbs, but couldn't I get that elsewhere? I probably havea decent base; I've been riding for a while now. Also, Is there anything wrong with doing most of your training on a trainer? I know this is not the bike training forum. I'm just looking for ideas on how to get more involved with bike activities. Is it wrong to just want to participate, and not trying to win? I'm an average white male, no girl, don't drink, don't smoke, and I'm just trying to do events as my personal version of "partying". I'm sorry if this post sounds strange. Thanks for reading.