Wetsuit Selection

C

Chris Hache

I'm new to triathlons, having completed my first one last Sunday. I noticed that many people there
had wetsuits made by either Ironman or Orca; I assume that these are triathlon-specific brands. I've
seen a used wetsuit for sale at 40% of the cost of a new triathlon wetsuit, but it is made for
surfing (Ripcurl). My question is - is this wetsuit (or any surfing wetsuit) suitable for triathlon?
After all, surfers do seem to paddle in a stroke similar to freestyle. My follow-on question is - if
this suit is merely acceptable for triathlon, how much more effort must be expended in the course of
the strokes and is it truly worth it? Thanks in advance for any replies.

Chris

"Chris Hache" <[email protected]> wrote in
news:[email protected]:

> I'm new to triathlons, having completed my first one last Sunday. I noticed that many people there
> had wetsuits made by either Ironman or Orca; I assume that these are triathlon-specific brands.
> I've seen a used wetsuit for sale at 40% of the cost of a new triathlon wetsuit, but it is made
> for surfing (Ripcurl). My question is - is this wetsuit (or any surfing wetsuit) suitable for
> triathlon? After all, surfers do seem to paddle in a stroke similar to freestyle. My follow-on
> question is - if this suit is merely acceptable for triathlon, how much more effort must be
> expended in the course of the strokes and is it truly worth it? Thanks in advance for any replies.
>
> Chris
>
>
>

I think the big differences are the flexibility of the wetsuit around the shoulders, bouancy, and
the hydrodynamics (slickness). Surfer's needs are quite different from a swimmers. They need a much
tougher suit. The fit can be more relaxed, since they aren't swimming for speed or efficiency. If
you used a tri suit for a few hours of surfing, it would likely be torn to pieces. The surf suit
would fare much better in a tri, but you'd be working a lot harder gainst the water.

Tom

Hello,