WH-R550 Broken Spokes

frusso10

Nov 24, 2004
I’ve been riding road bikes for about 10 years logging thousands of miles and believe it or not have never broken a spoke. I might also add that my cycling weight is about 195 pounds. Recently I purchased a set of Shimano WH-R550 wheels. When I had about 500 miles and after a 50 mile ride broke my first spoke on the rear wheel just as I was pulling into my drive way. Had the spoke replace then two hundred mils latter and after a 40 mile hilly ride broke my second spoke again on the rear wheel. I have three road bikes with different wheels Alex, Mavic SL and the only time I broke a spoke was on the WH-R550. Is this common with this wheel set? Has anyone else had the same problem. I’ve lost my confidence and worried I’ll get stranded on a long ride with this wheel.

Yes.

A friend of mine with those wheels ended up having to replace 3 broken spokes on the rear wheel (3 separate incidents) within the first 500 miles on his new Trek 1000.

He finally lost all faith in those wheels, and bought a new set of higher end wheels.

I think the problem was with the build, not the components, because when I checked the wheel the tension on the non-drive side spokes varied greatly.

I rebuilt the wheel with new spokes and nipples. It is being used by another friend who weighs about 250 lbs. So far (about 300 miles) it has stayed perfectly true, with no broken spokes.

Bob

Bobby Lex said:
Yes.

A friend of mine with those wheels ended up having to replace 3 broken spokes on the rear wheel (3 separate incidents) within the first 500 miles on his new Trek 1000.

He finally lost all faith in those wheels, and bought a new set of higher end wheels.

I think the problem was with the build, not the components, because when I checked the wheel the tension on the non-drive side spokes varied greatly.