What bike suits me?

Jesse Zamora

May 7, 2013
Hello there, first time posting here so I hope everyone is doing great.

I currently ride a Mongoose XR-75 with 26" wheels, and it's a little too small for me.

Although it gets the job done, I want one that I can comfortably ride for my 1-3 hour rides. I live 13 miles from the closest beach, and 26 miles from my favorite beach. I 'think' I want a fixed gear bicycle, but I've never actually shopped for bicycles outside of a big-box store such as walmart/target. I'm looking for something affordable, I'm a full-time student and split my money between hobbies (paintball, hiking, swimming, etc.)

I'm 6'0", 170lb, inseam - 32~.

yeah go to a bike shop and see what they have, 13 miles is ok for a return trip, but 26 miles is another story, for commuting at least, not impossible but hard, at least your other hobbies don't seem to be on the expensive side, a good bike can be pricey,

Fixes look nice on paper but lack real world practicality. Unless you get one that has a reversible hub (so one side can coast, and is not fixed) it can get old quick never being able to freewheel. I'd say knock yourself out if you lived in a completely flat place and were only planning on some commuting but you mentioned the possibility of longer rides. Best thing is to take one for a quick spin at a bike shop to confirm.

My advice - stay away from the department stores, and check out entry level road bikes (usually $450-500+) at a real bike shop. Then take it from there.

Originally Posted by Jesse Zamora .

I currently ride a Mongoose XR-75 with 26" wheels, and it's a little too small for me.