What do you fill your bottle with? and how do you recover from lethargy after the ride?

mutlut

Apr 24, 2011
I wonder what do pros (meaning you) fill their bottle with? With water only? Or sparkling water with more minerals? Orange juice? Or with an energizing drink sold in market? Or do you have a special recipe? Thank you all.

I'm a cycling newbie so forgive me if this drink is inappropriate for cycling, but it has worked well for me in other athletic and recreational pursuits.

• 4 oz green tea
  • 4 oz orange or orange/pineapple juice
  • 8 oz filtered or sparkling water
  • small pinch table salt (sodium chloride)
  • small pinch NoSalt salt substitute (potassium chloride)

I've never had bonked or had bloating or cramps as long as I kept sipping on this.

One bottle of water, one bottle Gatorade G2. I carry the water in case I crash. I don't think that Gatorade is very good for washing road rash. I generally drink the Gatorade first and then go with the water until I can stop and get more Gatorade on long rides. I use Gatorade because I like the taste, I don't have to mix it, it is readily available, and it is relatively inexpensive compared to other sports drinks that I like.

Myosmith, there is nothing wrong with your concoction. Everybody has their favorites and all that counts is that it works for them.

Mutlut, the Cat 1 racers use various drinks. A lot of them are proprietary mixes put together by their team and rarely do any of the riders drink the same stuff as anyone else in the peleton. What works best for one does not always work for another so there are variations throughout the team too. I don't believe that anyone could race at a pro level hydrating with only water.

Originally Posted by kdelong .