What do you get out of racing?

JSWin

Jul 13, 2015
If you race what do you feel like you get out of it and so forth? What made you start?

Personal satisfaction. That satisfaction increases if I beat people the same age as me!! I started after doing a few fun rides and wanting to improve my times.

Ironically it's the training for racing I enjoy the most.

Ironically enough, I've never done clean bike races. I've done both marathons and triathlons, but never just a bike race. Honestly, I don't know. Sense of accomplishment? Bragging right? I always took it much more as a challenge to just complete a race rather than winning.

I do race just to test my limits and see how do I compete with other fellow cyclists. I am no pro athlete, I only do this just for fun and for my well being.

I have a local crit that's about 10 min away from my house and I loved racing them. I get a lot out of racing such as to really tap into my mind and start to block out the negative thoughts when the pain level gets really high. I love racing as not only a test on my skills on the bike, but the skills of my mind so when I get into stressful situations in normal everyday life I can handle them and not freak out like I would without the racing background. I recommend it for everyone who really wants a mental and physical challenge, just don't be afraid of a little pain!

I'm not into racing and had not been although when I ride with a group, I have been racing in my mind. When I pass by a rider, I feel like being superior but when a rider passes me by, I feel somewhat dejected. But that racing is only in my mind since the group ride is just a leisurely tour. For those athletic types, I guess the satisfaction of getting ahead is their motivating factor.

My racing days are behind me now, but what I used to enjoy the most was the competitiveness, not just against the other riders but with myself aswell.