What Does It Take To Get Started?

BikeBikeBikeBike

May 19, 2015
What exactly do I need to head to the track? I am assuming my conventional bike will not be allowed and I will have to rent a bike. Will my existing armor be aceptable or do I need special equipment too? Can anyone recommend a good place to start in the GTA?

I am not a pro but let me toss in my 2 cents. For the track, you will need a racer bike. But the racer bike is not all because you also need to have the physical capability, i.e. if you are planning to race. But for practice, I guess you will be needing a coach. The fact that you don't even know what bike to bring in the track qualifies you to get a mentor for track cycling. I hope what I'm saying is correct.

I am not a track racer but you are correct in that you will need a track bike which has a specific frame. They are more rigid and single speed so from what I do know choosing gearing is critical depending the type of track racing you want to pursue. In most cases I believe a larger gear is better if you want to do TTs or lap group racing. Hopefully someone else here has more info for you.

I do not reccomend just jumping on a track with experienced racers. Take a beginners class, i did last summer. Handling a fixed gear on a track is a different animal and requires practice. You need to know track lingo and rules before riding with others.

As jhuskey said, you'll need a specific track bike to ride on most velodromes. Some, mostly likely outdoor concrete ones, will allow you to ride a road bike during closed sessions but for safety reasons you'll never have road bikes and track bikes mixed.

Renting a bike is a good way to start. Maydog did the right thing. Take a beginners course on how to ride track and take things from there. That course will likely be cheaper than trashing a pair of shorts when you go around the banking too slow the first time and slide down past the datum line in a rather unceremonious manner.