What does weight have to do with it...

buzzy

Jan 27, 2003
Ok, I'm new to cycling, and I have noticed in some posts that you guys are making reference to the weight of the rider and the type of bike, shoes, and seat a rider should buy. How does my weight (239.5lbs and counting..on a diet you know) (I'm 5'11") affect what bike and shoes I buy?

Thanks for your help!

Originally posted by buzzy
Ok, I'm new to cycling, and I have noticed in some posts that you guys are making reference to the weight of the rider and the type of bike, shoes, and seat a rider should buy. How does my weight (239.5lbs and counting..on a diet you know) (I'm 5'11") affect what bike and shoes I buy?

Thanks for your help!

Your weight flexes the frame, fork, wheels, etc. as you ride. The more you weigh the sturdier all those structures need to be. I never thought about shoes in this light, but I understand that your shoes also carry your weight, especially when standing on the pedals, but even when seated... especially when pedaling up a grade.
You can likely select components, frame, fork, wheels, + shoes that will be around 10% of your weight. You will enjoy riding more if you concentrate on selecting those items for comfort and safety... and not try to count grams.
Keep up the good work and keep riding.

Cycling is a great way to loose weight through excersize as there is minimal or no high impacts to your knees, etc. Good for you. I think any quality bike frame and shoes, as long as they are comfortable and fit you well, you will do fine with. You may want to error on the side of a stiffer frame however (perhaps an Al specialized Roubiax or the like over a sexy lightweight italian chromoly frame). You'll also probably want to upgrade your saddle to a gel model or one with lots of cushioning...off the shelf bikes don't often have very comfortable saddles.

Thanks for your help!