What got you in to cycling?

GaryBPT

Mar 7, 2013
I love cycling, I try and go out as often as possible! I'm new to the sport and I fancied trying my hand at completing the Helvellyn Triathlon last September after my second marathon, apparently it's one of the hardest triathlons in the world! I'd never done a triathlon before, and I didn't have a bike to do the cycle on, so I bought an old 80's Bettaglin racing bike off a friend of mine for £130 and started training on it. She's a tired old girl in serious need of some TLC but she got me round the tough course in one piece, and leading up to the event I slowly started to fall in love with being out on the country roads tanking some mileage and seeing views you wouldn't usually see. I appropriately named her Helvellyn post event to remind me of her achievements.

Since the triathlon I'm now looking to spend some cash on a decent bike that'll withstand the high mileage I'm going to be doing training for my big trip, but don't worry, I'm keeping Helvellyn, and going to restore her to her former glory /img/vbsmilies/smilies/smile.gif

What got you in to cycling guys? Please share your stories...

My father's Oldsmobile.

Found out a 3' oak tree works better than disc brakes. Got into distance swimming as a recovery sport. Got bored. A friend loaned me a Schwinn Continental. Two months later we did a 210-mile weekend tour.

41 years later...

BTW, I have a 1990's Gardin (Canada) that was actually built by Battaglin. It was a good road racer.

Reactions: GaryBPT
It was the best way to get around when I was a child and I guess I never really grew up.

Originally Posted by jhuskey .

It was the best way to get around when I was a child and I guess I never really grew up.