What If They Go Into Final Stage In Paris With Leader Only Ahead By 1 Second?

Discussion in 'The Bike Cafe' started by JamesAA, Jul 25, 2015.

  1. JamesAA

    JamesAA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Would the cyclist in 2nd place, just 1 second behind the leader, not attack the leader due to etiquette?
     
    Tags:


  2. jhuskey

    jhuskey Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,577
    Likes Received:
    325
    Yes, doesn't matter 2 seconds or 2 hours. The whole peloton would probably ride them down if they tried but it is an unwritten rule. It is a stage for celebration and the sprinters.
     
  3. 531Aussie

    531Aussie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,606
    Likes Received:
    137
    Yes, it'd be very tricky to get a gap on the last stage, because it's short, flat, everyone wants to win it, and because there's 'no tomorrow', all teams can smash themselves into the ground trying to win. In other words, not only would the leader's team negate attacks, all teams would, which rarely happens on other stages.
     
Loading...
Loading...