what is a good track for beginners?

Discussion in 'Australia and New Zealand' started by mongoose123, Sep 20, 2006.

1. mongoose123

mongoose123 New Member

Does anyone know a good track in Sydney for beginners to practice and ride??

Tags:

2. scotty72

scotty72 New Member

Sydney's a big place

Where in Sydney?

I'll start with the obvious ones across the greater metro area.

Centennial Park (watch for the deadly, marauding training packs) :)

Bicentennial / Olympic Park (probably best if your a complete beginner)

Parramatta Park

Scotty

3. mikeg

mikeg New Member

Prospect Canal Cycleway

Prospect Creek shared path

Mike

4. mongoose123

mongoose123 New Member

oooooooooo, thanks you guys, sorry about that, i forgot to narrow it down, but yeh, will go for olympic park for a try, is there traffic there though?

5. sogood

sogood New Member

Another good one for beginners, especially kids is Timberall Park in Haberfield/Five Dock. It's next to Iron Cove and has a number of tracks. A large around the whole park, a small track, a tiny track with lots of intersections and turns for small kids to learn road rules and cycle skill, and finally a small dirt track for kids to jump around in. And when you have perfected it, ride the 10km bay run cycleway. Cycle/pedestrian traffic in Timberall Park is low. So in many ways it's better than Centennial Park where human on feet and wheel traffic is relatively high.

6. 1id10t

1id10t New Member

Depends where you ride. They have several tracks with both road and cycle/pedestrian only sections. Go to their site -

http://www.sydneyolympicpark.com.au/

You'll find a link to maps showing the cycle paths. Handy tip: if you're planning to drive there on a weekend and park in the grounds go early. From experience, it gets packed by 10.30am - 11.00am.

7. matagi

matagi Well-Known Member