What is a realistic "base" for me?

Gingerbread Man

Jul 30, 2007
Hi,

I am a 41 yr old newbie who has been cycling for about 8 months on a MTB with slicks around the Wiltshire (UK) countryside. In the last few days I bought an old Giant TCR (2002) which I love.

On the MTB I got up to about 30-40 miles per week. A couple of weeks ago I rode 43 miles in 3hrs 20mins (avg speed 13mph) and a more pacy ride of 15.4 miles in one hour.

I want to work towards completing my "base" training.

Aged 41, now on a road bike, what would be reasonable criteria for me to meet in order to conclude I have completed my "base training" ?
e.g.
* able to ride 50 miles at an easy pace
* doing 100 miles per week
* average speed 18mph on a flat, 1 hour ride

These are my ideas to help provoke advice but I really dont know what I should be aiming for, other than longer and faster (which doesnt help me much!).

I dont get to ride at the weekends but I do get Mon to Thu evenings free since I work away and I can also do the 18 mile commute to work (if that helps with my training?). I plan to roll up for a 16mph, 2 hr club ride next week (for the first time) however the mid-week club rides will stop in the next few weeks anyway - leaving me solo again.

Any input welcome.

Cheers,

Joe

Joe,
What are your cycling goals? For instance are you after general recreation and fitness or perhaps you want to do organized day tours and things like century rides or charity rides (e.g. 50 to 100 miles with food stops along the way) or do you have an interest in competing in some form of cycling?