What is the right age to start cycling?

Discussion in 'Next Generation' started by EricHarris, Oct 4, 2011.

1. EricHarris

EricHarris New Member

Hi

I am 16 years old and i have always had a keen interest in cycling. I have decided that i want to start cycling but im not sure if my age is the right age to start and if so, what can i do to grow as a cyclist as i am still a school student.

Please, every reply will be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Tags:
    haleylx4 and CypemernAppef like this.

2. alienator

alienator Well-Known Member

Any age at which you want to start cycling is the perfect age to start cycling. 16 years is certainly an age that fits within that set. Please note that prenatal ages and postmortem ages are not well suited to cycling.

3. Myosmith

Myosmith Member

As far as I'm concerned, the best time to start cycling is as soon as baby can straddle a pre-rider and not immediately tip over sideways.

Certainly there are many accomplished teenage cyclists including many younger than you.

You didn't mention you current level of riding or what kind(s) of riding you are interested in, so I'm going to assume you are a beginner. The best thing you can do to grow as a cyclist is to get out and ride. Ride for fitness, Ride for skills training, Ride for pleasure, Ride because its Tuesday, but get on a bike and ride. You don't have to start with a full set of riding apparel (though I recommend a good helmet) and a $3,000 Ultegra equipped carbon fiber bike. For a while I rode a 1990s vintage Schwinn Caliente that I literally pulled of a scrap metal heap and fixed up for about $50. I sometimes regret selling that bike as it was very comfortable and a lot of fun to ride, though heavy by today's standards.

Work on general health, diet and fitness as well as riding skills. Learn everything you can about your sport and have fun.

4. cristinajohn

cristinajohn New Member