what made you start biking?

web143

Jun 3, 2012
I just started biking and love it!! Just would like to chit chat with people that share the same passion as me. I'd like to learn more about biking and the whole experience :)

Reactions: haleylx4
I think the bicycle I started riding on was a birthday present. I was four at the time and it was a used bicycle my Dad had cleaned-up and repainted red and white. It had solid (no inflation) 20 inch wheels [unusual even i the early 50's]. Of course the bicycle had training wheels.... and I don't recall them ever coming off the bike.

I loved my little bicycle and was assigned strict travel/distance limits. But was never to muster the self-control required to stay within the one block allotted. I still remember the joy of riding that little bicycle and the freedom of exploring the surrounding neighborhoods. My explorations was referred to as "running away" at the time and was cause for punishment in my household. Most of the time that little bicycle was mine... it was kept under lock and key (with my Mom controlling the key). A couple years or so later.... I had another bicycle.

Then in 1964 I got a Schwinn Varsity 10 speed. Back in those days that was called a racing bike. Although no one raced bicycles in the mid-west [that I I ever heard of] in the 60's. But it was that Schwinn 10 spd road bike that instilled a passion for cycling that has kept me coming back.

The twenty mile ride I went for this morning was as much fun as I remember cycling being when I was four years old. And as challenging as the "racing bike" was in my early teens.

I learned to ride on one of those big old heavy tank bikes with the horn button on the side. ( I know, dating myself) I thought my Grandfathers army hat had some kind of magic in it that allowed me to ride...hey, I was 5...LOL. I lost the hat and thought I wouldnt be able to ride...life lesson #1.