What size tire are you riding?

maxo

Aug 13, 2004
I got a great deal on some 700x20's (Michelin Hi-Lite Prestige $10.00 each) and thought I give them a try... have'nt noticed much of a difference, I hear pinch flats might be an issue. What are your thoughts?

I've been using the exact same tire, same size for 2 years, also because I got a good deal. Like you I haven't noticed any difference from the 23s. And no pinch flats running around 100 psi rear, 90psi front.

I'm stuck in the 80s, and one of the "side effects" is that I still use 20s.
I've read all the science, and I've tried 23s a billion times, but I don't care, I prefer the feel of 20s pumped up to 150psi.....ooh baby :p

I'd say that the rate of pinch flats is slightly increased, but you've just gotta be careful not to fly across train tracks and potholes at 50kmh. So, I suppose it depends on what your roads are like.

Having crapped on about all that, if I were racing criteriums I'd like bigger tyres for safer cornering, but I like very high pressures, so I'd probably get tubulars (we call 'em 'singles'). :)

I ride on some fairly bad roads and therefore use 700X25's pumped to 130 psi. With these I can usually get a couple thousand miles between flats. I used to use Conti 3000's but get better wear and cheaper results in Bontrager Race Lites with steel bead.

700 x 23, Michelin Pro-Race.

My bike in the 90's used to have some offensively thin tyres on it, which offered all the comfort of a kick in the knackers, but so much has moved on since then it would be unfair to compare with today's 20mm!

jabike said:
I ride on some fairly bad roads and therefore use 700X25's pumped to 130 psi.
130 psi is nuts unless you are a clyde and have to do it to avoid pinch flats.

For winter training i'm using 700 x 23 mm Vittoria Rubino Pro's inflated to 120 psi.