What to eat in the morning before training

kmaultsby

Jul 29, 2006
Newbie here I would like to workout in the morning but what should I eat before my ride or do I wait until I come back from my ride?

You must eat something, as you wake up after a 'fast' of 8 hours or so.

Carbohydrates: Cereal, bread, fruit, load up.

Spunout said:
You must eat something, as you wake up after a 'fast' of 8 hours or so.
So? I would say it depends on what you are planning to do. I usually don't eat before I workout in the morning. I have no problems doing that, at least not for efforts up to about 2-2 1/2 hours or so. If you are planning a metric or century, then, yes, it's probably a good idea to have some food before you go.

usually- a small (one slice of bread- folded over) peanut butter sandwich. carbs... a bit proteinseems to work for me. but as stated above-- greatly depends on what your going to do that day.

kmaultsby said:
Newbie here I would like to workout in the morning but what should I eat before my ride or do I wait until I come back from my ride?
I have found if I have a banana, some juice, and small glass of low fat choc milk, in the morning before I head out that I feel much better during my ride. I mix gatorade and water, during the ride itself and have sport beans or power gel after the first hour or so.

I also drink another small glass of chocolate milk when I get back, then have a regular healthy breakfast.

Oatmeal, yogurt, two scrambled-eggs with mushrooms, fresh salsa and cheese, carboforce, water - oatmeal-raisen bar, banana, and gels for the ride, gatorade in one bottle, water in the other, stop at several springs for more water about half way. Upon return, more gatorade, maybe a yogurt or small sandwich - shower - eat a nice big pasta dinner. My wife hates me. I eat like a 300lb+ slob would eat, yet I remain 155lbs (5'7"). Gotta love being able to stuff more carbs into my belly than I can shake a stick at.