What to know about drivetrains?

Discussion in 'Bike buying advice' started by Brandon Clark, Dec 24, 2019.

1. Brandon Clark

Brandon Clark New Member

Hey all, let me introduce myself a bit here....

The year is 2014, I'm an alcoholic and fat as hell. My wife will leave me early in the following year, and take the children with. She had no choice. I weighed a stunning 290lbs!

Well, I attended AA and stopped drinking, and eventually won her and kids back by summer. How?

While on a dog walk in April I saw a neighbor was throwing out an old bicycle, and it looked JUST like the one I rode as a child in the 90's!, an MTB! So, I took it! I started riding it! OMG, I felt like a kid again on two wheels! It was amazing. "Lynda, Lynda! I just rode 5 miles! Can you believe it?" (haha)

Shortly after realizing that the bike should've been thrown out I went to the local Trek store and purchased a 7.2fx fitness bike. It's been great. I got in shape and dropped 50 pounds, down to 240. Now, I'm not a huge guy at 6 feet 1.5 inches but I used to lift weights a lot and at 240lbs look athletically built. Certainly not a climber, heh.

Anyways, despite a busted ankle from basketball in 2017-2018, I have ridden my 7.2fx a lot (for me) and have accrued just over 1750 miles on it this year as well as some significant Zwift time. Hey, that's a lot for a guy who works 60 hours a week with five kids.

Anyways, I feel like I'm outgrowing the hybrid. I want a road bike. I want a road bike because I'm starting to hit hills now and it feels like my gearing just isn't right on the 7.2fx. I know hills should be hard, and that my weight has EVERYTHING to do with this (I'm working on this, I am), but I can't help but notice that I have trouble keeping up with my roadie friends who average around 20mph while I'm at 16-17mph on my hybrid.