What to look for in a frame ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Simon Smith

After looking around at road bikes, I decided the best bet was to build one up using a company like
Deeside or Ribble (I know) or just buying the components myself and building it up over the winter.

As I'm new to cycling I'm a bit confused about the masses of frame options around but have been told
to get carbon forks and a carbon seat stay if I can afford it because the ride on aluminium is too
unpleasant otherwise. I haven't really considered steel as it tends to be more expensive and heavier
and Carbon and Ti are way too expensive.

Concerning the aluminium alloy is there any difference in quality between 7003, 7005 and SC61.10A
(scandium) ? Am I right in thinking that the only difference is the weight ?

Has anyone tried any of the ribble or deeside frames with carbon seat stays ?

Thanks

Simon

"Simon Smith" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> After looking around at road bikes, I decided the best bet was to build one up using a company
> like Deeside or Ribble (I know) or just buying the components myself and building it up over
> the winter.

snip

standard Question 1.

What do you want the bike for? OK -- you say road but what type of cycling? Racing? TT? Pootling
down to the shops?

T

"Simon Smith" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> After looking around at road bikes, I decided the best bet was to build one up using a company
> like Deeside or Ribble (I know) or just buying the components myself and building it up over
> the winter.
>
> As I'm new to cycling I'm a bit confused about the masses of frame options around but have been
> told to get carbon forks and a carbon seat stay if I can afford it because the ride on aluminium
> is too unpleasant otherwise. I haven't really considered steel as it tends to be more expensive
> and heavier and Carbon and Ti are way too expensive.
>