what to look for with respect to fitment?

ccrnnr9

May 5, 2004
I am still pretty new to bikes in the sense that I am not familiar with what to look for. I have been to a lot of bike shops but this is useless when I am not sure what makes one bike better for me than another. I hear a lot of guys say "buy whatever fits you best" but I am confused as to what I should look for. I hear something different from every LBS so Im not sure what to buy. I currently ride an entry level sora bike and I want to spend enough that I am not just jumping one step above my current bike but still want to stay under my budget of around 1400$ for just the bike. I plan to buy some shimano pedals and some nice aero bars as well. Just as a note, this will be my first season racing for my college team and in the summer I plan to race for a team back home. I would like a bike that will be my all in one bike (workhouse, racing bike, etc)...I wish I could afford two bikes but Im a college student on a budget. Here are some questions I have some up with that I cant find answers to just by searching on the forums:

1. What is the difference between a normal double crank and compact crank?
2. Should I worry about the crank arm lengths or is that something that I wont have a choice on in my price range?
3. What main things should I look for when I hop on a bike for a test ride? Just because something is comfortable, does that mean it is the best fit for me?
4. How much should bike weight facor into my decision?
5. Should my priority be on the frame, wheels, shifters/dereilleurs, etc?
6. The bike that I am most interested in (Orbea Volatta) comes with Campy Mirage (9spd). Should having a 10spd be that much of a priority?
7. In my price range, are most of the bikes going to be of similar quality?