What to upgrade first?

mlessor91

Jun 10, 2012
Hey everyone, I have a 2012 felt z85 and after completing my first summer of riding I am thinking of possible upgrades I can do over the winter. I am not looking to drop a ton of money since I am in college and poor :) possibly looking to ask for it from my gf who is a working woman lol. It's completely stock no upgrades, I have cycling computer and that's it. What should I upgrade? Clip less pedals Crank? Heard the Fsa one isn't great Brakes? Or anything else? Essentially I am a complete noob so any suggestions would be great along with the specific thing to upgrade too. Sorry for lengthiness and thanks in advance.

Clipless pedals- mtn styles if you plan to ride w/ friends, tour or walk around a lot when tou ride or road style if you're thinking about racing

BUT DO GET REGARDLESS- another set of wheels because that is what "fails" most, and a lighter high performance wheelset is the quickest most cost effective way to improve performance and many hp wheelsets are stronger than what comes on a bike of that cost. Get some tools and a work stand and learn how to use them for adjustments etc. they will pay for themselves many times I hate to say it but, ( having been a mechanic), paying a shop to maintain your bike is expensive.

Pat Stowe said:
Clipless pedals- mtn styles if you plan  to ride w/ friends, tour or walk around a lot when tou ride  or road style if you're thinking about racing BUT DO GET REGARDLESS- another set of wheels because that is what "fails" most, and a  lighter high  performance wheelset is the quickest most cost effective way to improve performance and many hp wheelsets are stronger than what comes on a bike of that cost. Get some tools and a work stand and learn how to use them for adjustments etc. they will pay for themselves many times I hate to say it but, ( having been a mechanic), paying a shop to maintain your bike is expensive.