What to wear with winter coming?

noonievut

Jul 5, 2004
I'm a newb who living in Toronto, is starting to get ready for riding in cooler, or just plain cold temperatures.

I've heard that layering is key, but I'm wondering what clothing would "generally" be required for the following conditions (I've given my ranges in celcuis):

1) 10-20 - I'd think shorts and a long sleeve jersey
2) 5-10 - I'd think maybe wind pants, maybe a jacket, and a long sleeve J
3) 0-5 - here is where I draw a blank (I'm sure I'll work up a sweat but don't know what to wear)
4) under 10 - 0 - ?

I only have summer clothing and need to buy some stuff for cooler riding. I don't want to waste money buying a thin long sleeve jersey if I should buy a thicker one (purpose of this e-mail is to not waste money and "try" to dress appropriately 1st time and learn from that). I have a wind/water resistant jacket (not lined) and similiar pants (not-lined).

This is pretty much a personal question. Clothing needs seem to vary quite a bit, as well as tolerance for cold. Sun, humidity, and wind are all as important as temps. As you know, a dry, calm sunny day at 10 C feels much warmer than a cloudy damp one.

Trick is to have on enough to warmup, but then not too much so that you sweat under your layers. I tend to stay away from water-resistant stuff (unless it's really wet and cold) since it doesn't breath. Wind jackets and pants are ok for the warmup, or on an easy/slow ride. But if you're working hard and sweating, they trap the moisture inside and you get clammy or overheat.

I'd say dollar for dollar, a good base layer is a great investment. I like tight-fitting and thin underlayer of sweat-conducting synthetic under a thin fleece jersey or sweatshirt or even tightly-knit sweater. On the legs, a good pair of tights does the trick.