what type of bike is best?

goobyegravity

Jan 5, 2011
sorry if this has been asked before but im a noob, i just recently gotten into road cycling and here in st.louis the roads and sidewalks are in horrible shape. i ride a 06 trek 1000 and the roads here beat the hell out of the wheels and i was wondering if id be better off trading it in for some sort of hybrid?

mostly out of true, i mean there are potholes everywhere and sometimes they are hard to miss with traffic, and sidewalks here are very un even and cracked so i just feel like im doing a lot of damage to the rims while riding

I would rather find alternate routes, depending on the time obviously the traffic increases and it would be crazy to do an unexpected move to evade a pothole... Of course, there are also stronger wheels, Ive heard the mavic ksyriums are pretty strong wheels, but other says they are heavy but I havent tried them out yet.

what about just getting thicker tires? I got some larger ones with kevlar in them because I have to ride on a lot of gravel. Also some bike rims are pretty strong. I heard of this guy who got hit head on by a speeding car, and his front wheel was just barely bent enough that it couldn't be used. Head on they're tough, from the side not so much.
If you ride a hybrid bike it's just going to be a heavier frame with bigger tires, when you probably don't need the heavier frame.

yea i figured it would be heavier, i guess i underestimate the strength of the rims, i come from a bmx background when i was a child so im not used to the thin tires,