What tyre pressure ?

davidren

Jan 12, 2008
I'm a newbie to mountain biking and whilst i haven't had any punctures yet, I would like to know what the recommended pressure of tyres is. Having read a few articles etc it seems that around 40-50psi is suitable.......is this the case ???

I to am new to mountain biking but I have found that a lower tire pressure helps on mtb trails. I usually put 45 to 50 psi in the rear and 40 to 45 psi in the front for off road. But on paved or crushed stone trails with the kids I'll ride 60 psi in both. Try different pressures and use what feels good to you *just stay within the tires rating on the sidewall*

It depends on the terrain, rider weight, and sidewall recommendation. You want the pressure low enough for good traction, but high enough to prevent pinch flats and less rolling resistance.

On the same set of tires I've run:
30 psi for technical loose singletrack
45 psi for hardpack singletrack
60 psi for asphalt

I use the max on the sidewall for asphalt and around 45 for softer loose terrain. I weigh a little more than 200lbs.

Solanog said:
I use the max on the sidewall for asphalt and around 45 for softer loose terrain. I weigh a little more than 200lbs.
For a 200 lb rider 45 lbs is a good starting pressure for off road use. You can adjust based on traction from there. I'm assuming your running tubes, not tubeless. I weigh 170 and run 35 - 38 normally. But I've been pinch flatting when I'm close to 35 lately. VERY rough terrain, though.

danaceau said:
For a 200 lb rider 45 lbs is a good starting pressure for off road use. You can adjust based on traction from there. I'm assuming your running tubes, not tubeless. I weigh 170 and run 35 - 38 normally. But I've been pinch flatting when I'm close to 35 lately. VERY rough terrain, though.