What Wheels to buy? Help!

SeNone

Aug 8, 2012
Hello, this is my first year riding a road bike and now I'm hooked. I weigh 210lbs and I'm trying to figure out what would be the best wheels I can purchase without spending crazy money. I don't know if I deserve new wheels yet but I figure I'll be purchasing a wheelset that's definitely under $500. I figure I can use these for training eventually. My friends who has been riding for years told me I'm a very strong rider so I want wheels that can take my punishment. I do take care of my equipment so I'm not going to beating the **** out of these wheels too much but at the same time I want solid strong wheels. I enjoying climbing hills, accelerating, sprinting, and just enjoy riding period. I've been putting in a lot of miles and I do live in the city so please give me some pointer. Thanks...I've been looking at the typical wheels like mavic aksium, fulcrum racing 7, and I found shimano rs30 for a real good price.

Why do you need new wheels? This being you first year out, I bet your biggest gains will be in fitness.

I own 2 of the three wheelsets you listed. None of which would probably be in the recommended list for a heavier rider. I responded to a wheel question in the Clydesdale area with my feedback. On sale, the akisums and the RS 30's may be OK but don't expect them to last forever.

Reactions: SeNone
Yeah, I'm sure your right. I should wait to drop some weight , then get them. The reason I was looking into it was because it's time for me to get new tires and I found those with tires on them brand new for a great price on cl. I definitely don't feel like I earned them but I've heard wheels make the biggest difference on the bike. Everyone tells me my wheels are crappy and super heavy. Thanks for the quick reply I appreciate your 2cents...And my back wheels not true anymore and I feel like it's gonna get bent again

SeNone said: