What would you buy?

HammerHead

Jun 10, 2003
I'm willing to spend around $1,200 on a new wheelset. I race crits only. There are so many different choices out there I think I've just confused myself :confused: , so I'd like to hear some of your thoughts.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

thanks.

Wow, that's a nice little budget for wheels!! Well, I think there are 2 camps of thought you can go with on this: don't spend a whole lot on something that may very well get trashed....or, go all out! If it were me....I would get a handbuilt set of Zipp clincher rims (404s), built up with Dura Ace or Record hubs, 24 or 28, 2x in the front, and 3x in the rear (28 or 32).
Rationale: strong, durable wheels that can be rebuilt if necessary, with proven hubs, yet the wheels will be aero because of the rims. As for spoke choices, that would depend on: your weight, expected road surfaces, can you true your own wheels? For example, I am not good at truing wheels and don't have someone nearby I trust, so I would just stick with round spokes. Otherwise, aero spokes....however, a pain in the butt if they get out of true and start turning, effectively becoming paddles in the wind instead of aero. I had this happen with a rear Cosmic Carbon....admittedly after 3 years of hard racing, but still something to consider.

Rolf Vigors, about $800. Super fast wheel with 35mm deep aero V rim. Use the rest for tires and chesesteaks.

Pro-Lite Gavias. They are an incredibly stiff wheel. I was lucky enough to test ride a pair around a crit circuit and they are fast.

On the handbuilt suggestion. Also a great idea. Othe rims include Corima Aero clinchers, Gigantex rims and some others. White industry hubs are superb I hear.

Thanks for the input. The Rolfs look nice. Any idea about the lateral stiffness of those wheels? The Pro-lites also look really nice, both at a great price.