What Year did you start riding ?(roughly)

Discussion in 'The Bike Cafe' started by cfsmtb, Feb 15, 2004.

1. cfsmtb

cfsmtb New Member

I really enjoyed the poll about what age people started cycling, now I'm curious to roughly what years people started, ie: 1960-65 etc and what type of bike, ie: kids bike, early BMX, 70's roadie etc.

I commenced cycling, well, wobbling to be more precise, in about 1972 on a little pink kids trike with a tray for toys between the rear wheels. Kinda grown up a tad since, sorta...:D

Tags:

2. davebee

davebee New Member

Interesting topic. I started riding when I was about 6 so I guess being born in 84 I would have started cycling around 88-89. My first bike was a single speed jobby with a rack and a white plastic box thing for toys. I think I always used to put freshly mown grass from the local park in it! I think I had a BMX at some point for a couple of years when I was still really young (under12) so I didn't really use it for tricks. More of a kids BMX than a serious one.

Then I went through a phase of second hand mtb's but didnt really understand them until about 1997-98. I got my Dawes Galaxy when I was 17 so that would have been 01, and I guess that was when I became really serious about cycling.

I am currently wheeling and dealing to upgrade a 7spd mtb into a quality piece of kit.

Sorry to bore the a**e of you all! :)

3. bigfloppyllama

bigfloppyllama New Member

Just about 8 months ago, and I can't imagine what I was doing with all my free time (and money:D) before I started riding.

4. Bikesoiler

Bikesoiler New Member

Circa early seventies.
    Several trikes, then a gold dragster with banana seat & ape hangers. :cool:
    Closely followed by a 24" road bike with flat bars & coaster brake , pre dating singlespeed MTB's by 20 years but ridden just like one. :)

5. JohnO

JohnO New Member