What year was this trek made?

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Rick, May 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rick

Rick Guest

Hello all,

I'm considering buying a used Trek. It has a red frame that reads "2200 Alpha SL". The components
    look to be Shimano 105. The rear wheel is a Campagnola Omega and the front is a Matrix. It says Air
    Rail on the Fork. The seat is a Sella Stratos.

The asking price is $500, it's not in the best of shape (looks to have been dumped a couple of times
    at least). The seller stated in his ad that the bike is "1 year new".

Any advice on this is greatly appreciated.

Rick

Tags:

2. David

David Guest

First of all a disclaimer. I am no expert. But from the sounds of it, the rear wheel was replaced
    from the original. I'd have to wonder why one would do that while keeping the original front wheel.
    A nasty crash perhaps? I don't know how you keep the front wheel though.

Trek used matrix wheels in the mid-late 90s. 1997 or so would be my estimate if my memory serves me
    correctly. I'd guess the frame is late 90s, early 2000s at the latest 01. A relatively quick and
    easy way to tell is to look at the headset. If it threaded, it is pre 2000, I believe that is when
    trek switched. If it is not threaded, most likely newer. Anyhow good luck, I would definitely have
    the frame looked over, if it appears to be taken down, there may be structural defects.

David

"Rick" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...
    > Hello all,
    >
    > I'm considering buying a used Trek. It has a red frame that reads "2200 Alpha SL". The components
    > look to be Shimano 105. The rear wheel is a Campagnola Omega and the front is a Matrix. It says
    > Air Rail on the Fork. The seat is a Sella Stratos.
    >
    > The asking price is $500, it's not in the best of shape (looks to
    have
    > been dumped a couple of times at least). The seller stated in his
    ad