What's reasonable?

lexi

Jan 18, 2010
I was wondering if anyone could tell me - what is a reasonable speed/distance to travel? I'm fairly new to cycling and am planing a 1400 k ride. Due to the rough roads and the availability of fire trails where I live, I have a mountain bike. Is it reasonable to ride 100 k's a day with this, as I'm planing a trip from Sydney to Adelaide? I'm middle aged and slightly overweight and where I live is very hilly. On the hills I average 12 k's an hour. There is nowhere flat here, so I can only make an assumption of around 15k's an hour on the flat. Could or should I improve my times - or are these reasonable, in using a mountain bike?

Your question is really impossible for anyone to answer but yourself. All I can say, is it all depends on you. Some people can ride all day, others 1 hour. If you ride 1 hour, my advice is you should gradually increase your km's over time. That also goes for your speed. If you normally travel at 15 kph, gradually test out your limits. Nobody can tell you what your average should be but yourself. Also, if you're only riding 1 hour, attempting to go for 1,400 km's in a short amount of time could be tough on you. Preparation is everything.

As for the MTB, IMO on the road, MTB tires will be not as comfortable and economic as road tires. But that's just my opinion, again, different strokes for different folks. IMO, I would definitely try to get a hold of a road bike, or at least switch your tires on your MTB.

Hope this helps,
-Greg

I would advise riding at least 50 km distance for a couple of consecutive days before hand and see how you do.
MTB's are generally around 4.5 kms slower on average than a good road bike.

lexi said: