Wheel Advice

wc07

Jan 29, 2011
Just got my first road bike (hand me down from friends father) and he didn't know much about the bike. He didn't take the best care of it. Anyway, I'm trying to look around for decent entry level wheels that won't burn my wallet. I'm not opposed to going to the LBS, but would rather do so with some knowledge and not look like a complete noob. The bike has Alex RP15F wheels on it now. I have a Shimano Idex System (7 speed) and that affects what wheels I can put on the bike right? What are some recommendations? Will I have to buy new tires and tubes too?

Thanks ahead of time

Big questions are:
- what are you hoping to achieve, why do you think that you need new wheels?

Are the wheels you have broken, bent? Aren't spinning smoothly?

Or are you hoping to go faster? First step on a journey of upgrades?

I don't get a lot of hits on a search on Shimano idex. Those I get are all from South America and usually lumped together with Shimano Tourney. Based on that (and the 7-speed is a clue too) I'd guess that what you have is a fairly low-end bike.
For Shimano though, even low-end is usually perfectly serviceable. A bit clunky and chunky, but if kept reasonably clean and lubed fully acceptable for everyday riding.

Let's look at speed first - unless there's something wrong with your current wheels (bearings, spoke tension, trueness...) the amount of speed you'd gain from another set of wheels is most likely quite marginal. There are plenty of other things to work on before getting another wheelset becomes top priority.
There is probably some durability to gain by switching wheels. The rim you have is a single-wall, which tends to give poorer service than double-walled ones.
Not that it's in any way impossible to ride many happy miles on a single-wall.