Wheel doesn't fit in dropout

cloudhead

Jul 8, 2010
Hello,

I scored a pretty cool used Ciöcc frame (COM 12.5 steel), and have enough components around to tinker up something to ride, hopefully, as a fast commuter. But the rear wheel doesn't fit in the derailleur-side dropout, as seen in the photo. Is this something fixable, or has this frame already seen it's day? It fits fine on the other side. I'm a bit of a newbie to bike repair, with the intention of this bike teaching me, so any info is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Court

If you look at the paint at approximately the 5 o'clock position on the dropout you can see cracking. Probably the derailer hanger has been bent slightly forward w/o an axle in the dropout, pinching the dropout together a bit.
Steel is reputably forgiving, so probably it's possible to bend it back - but if it was me I'd probably take a file to the dropout and just widen it a tad instead until the axle settles properly.

To be more specific... The cracking that debac is talking about is cracking in the PAINT... not the steel. At least that's what I see. And he's right, it can probably be bent back in to shape. But if you don't know what you're doing take it to a local bike shop and have them look at it.

You don't want to bend it wrong or you could twist the derail hanger and cause problems with the shifting. You also don't want to bend it too much and then have to bend it again, because while steel is pretty forgiving, there will come a point where it will start to fatigue. You could also file the inside of the drop out like he suggested as well but I say that without knowing how much it's bent, and without knowing if the derail hanger is straight right now or not.