wheels

dobbs9473

Mar 28, 2013
hi guys/girls ,im looking for some advice on a set of wheels im thinking of buying.i do around 200 kms a week an my current wheels are almost done ..im looking at a set of fulcrum racing 7 wheels ..theyre costing around $200 ,so im just wondering what ye think or have ye got any other reccomendations..any feedback would be appreciated

7's are good entry level wheels. They're durable and good looking. Also, look at Mavic Aksiums. I'm doing my best to kill them and they're winning that battle. Nashbar's Vuelta wheels fall into the same class.

I have some experience with cheap / entry level wheelsets, see this post:

http://www.cyclingforums.com/t/491244/road-wheelsets-for-220lb-riders#post_4042337

I am currently running RS30 on my Tri bike, Mavic Aksiums on my "fast" bike and Corsa HDs on my everyday bike. The current set of akisums has issues with the front going out of true frequently until I added a drop of locktite to each spoke nipple. The HDs are holding up beautifully - they are really a great deal on a entry wheelset. The RS30s don't see as much miles but seem to perform well.

I did have a previous set of Akisums (straight pull design) that started popping rear NDS spokes. A blown spoke without a spare means a long walk home. They are hanging on the wall now.

I've managed to nurse a bike home with more than one snapped spoke. It was slow, it wasn't fun, but I got there.

A lot depends on how far out you are when it pops. In my case it was only a couple of miles.

maydog said:
I did have a previous set of Akisums (straight pull design) that started popping rear NDS spokes. A blown spoke without a spare means a long walk home. They are hanging on the wall now.
same problem here, on the back wheel