Wheelsmith Wheels?

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Eden, Jan 29, 2007.

1. Eden

Eden New Member

Anybody have any experience with them? I picked up a pair of NOS (new old stock) Wheelsmith Gold Label built wheels on ebay yesterday. They seemed like a pretty good deal (Velocity deep V rim, Ultegra hubs, Wheelsmith spokes), but I haven't seen much around about them. Lots of info on the spokes, but no one seems to sell the wheels anymore. Their own web site seems a little out of date. Anyone have their wheels - likes/dislikes?

Tags:

2. daveornee

daveornee New Member

Wheelsmith does a great job in cleaning and shining their spokes. Gold Label build is a rating they provide on what steps and tolerances they take.
    I have some experiences with them since Santana tandems used them in the past. My experiences have shown them to be inferior to many home made and some other factory wheels.
    I would spoke align them, retension them, tension balance them, and stabilize them. Once that is done, you should have a pretty decent set of wheels. Velocity Deep V rims are nice and stiff. They help spread dynamic cycling loads over lots of spokes. That stiffness helps mask poor builds, but once you have improved the finishing steps, you should have some very reliable wheels.

3. Eden

Eden New Member

Good to know - I'll have my LBS check them over before I ride them.

I've got a similar set on my rainbike right now and the rims are getting fairly worn - LBS figures I've got 1/2 year left in them. The set I just got was less expensive than getting my current wheels rebuilt (and they have better hubs), plus I don't have any spares so I figured they were worth it. I'm not heavy so I don't regularly bend wheels - but we've had a pretty nasty weather year here, so the pavements kind of torn up. I've hit some ugly holes and not even a wobble on the rims.

4. meehs

meehs New Member

One word. Overrated.

5. sogood

sogood New Member