When cyclists squat...

Budarz

May 19, 2003
Two things I'd like to know:

1) To the coaches out there (or anyone who knows): When I read diaries of track sprinters doing squats, are they training muscle specificity in the sense that the squats go down to around 90 degrees since they don't need power below that to ride, or do they tend to follow the powerlifting community by going butt to calves? If the latter, why?

2) I understand the argument about cycling performance not correlating well with leg strenght in the gym. My problem is that experience has told me the opposite. At age 16 I had been training and racing road for a few years. The first time I stepped into a gym to work legs I did squats with 315lbs for 10 reps down to around 90 degree bend. I did that weight because my older and larger brother was betting on me not being able to do it. I know I wasn't that strong before cycling. What gives?

The last thing cyclists want to do is to damage their knees, and squatting past 90 degrees may put too much stress on the knees.

To be honest I am no expert. Just happen to read some articles before.

L.B.

Following the example of the powerlifting community (i.e. going butt to calves) is an invitation for disaster. At that extreme range of motion the force of your muscle contraction is actually pulling your knee apart. Not to mention that you're squishing your menisci like they were in a garlic press. Never a good idea. There is never a need to go beyond 90 degrees. As you said, on the bike sprinters are not going beyond 90 degrees anyway. I would think doing a focused (but safe) weight training program in the off season to improve your baseline strength followed by specific sprint workouts once the season starts would be the way to go. I'm sure there are some sprinter types out there who could help you more with the specifics of sprint workouts.