When do postprandial bg's peak?

C

Carterjp

I see everyone talking about 2 hour peaks, but I've been measuring peaks usually at 45 minutes to 75
minutes (1 hour 15 minutes). What's going on? Fyi, my meals do tend to be lower in grains and
starches (potatoes and such) - but my understanding is that these time-delay (not advance) the
occurance of peaks. Can there be two peaks? I haven't seen this (2 peaks) happen yet, though I see
sustained highs (lasting ~45 mins) when I experiment with some foods (I'm still learning).

And while you are here, a couple of diet questions - what's with the squash family of vegetables? I
ate Chayote and it sent my bg rocketing. I experienced something similar with baby squashes (simply
microwaved and doused in some lemon juice by way of preparation) I thought they were supposed to be
low glycemic. Is this a YMMV phenomenon? Another personal YMMV factoid perhaps - I also have erratic
results with grapefruit. Had half a grapefruit one day to see bg go to 100 and then decline. The
next day the same size serving from a fresh batch I excitedly bought from the grocers took it to 150
without warning, (when right the day after one slice of whole wheat bread with sugarfree apricot jam
only took me to 120 before declining). Could it be that different grapefruit varietals behave
differently? Bizzare.

T2 detected Jan 23, 2004 (doc and OGTT say IGT, but pp bg can cross
200)

On 23 Feb 2004 00:20:20 -0800, [email protected] (carterjp) wrote:

>I see everyone talking about 2 hour peaks, but I've been measuring peaks usually at 45 minutes to
>75 minutes (1 hour 15 minutes). What's going on? Fyi, my meals do tend to be lower in grains and
>starches (potatoes and such) - but my understanding is that these time-delay (not advance) the
>occurance of peaks. Can there be two peaks? I haven't seen this (2 peaks) happen yet, though I see
>sustained highs (lasting ~45 mins) when I experiment with some foods (I'm still learning).
>