When doesn't a LBS deserve my business?

Brian in VA

Jul 10, 2011
I scored a bonus this year and my wife told me to go buy a new bike. (Yeah, she's my biggest fan.) I've been riding a mid-90s Giant CFR3 for about 2 years that I purchased from Craigslist, putting about 2,000 miles per year on it.

I decide to work very hard to buy it locally, as I usually do, instead of from a chain. But if I'm dropping $2K on one of my hobbies, I'm going to make damn sure I buy intelligently.

I hit 3 of the local shops for test rides a couple of Fridays ago. The first shop did it's absolute best to sell me one of the trade-ins they had, despite me telling them I was interested in a new bike. My only beef with purchasing another used bike is, I can't tell if it's a good deal or not. Besides, they guy immediately showed me something $500 more than I said I wanted to spend. (I train salespeople for a living, so I know selling techniques. He didn't give me a reason for showing me higher prices, he just did. Fail.) I did ride a Giant Defy that was amazing but it was also about twice what I wanted to spend. One of the other guys in the shop, I took him to be the owner, said, in a really shitty tone, something like, "Yeah they make one in your price range but it's that cheap carbon." Sorry, I don't like being talked down to....I told them I'm not a racer, not putting that much into this purchase. Besides, he degraded one of his manufacturers' products. See ya.

Next place grudgingly let me take a test ride, wouldn't give me any assistance or recommendations with type of bike to buy, and made it feel like I was an interruption of their day. The bike rode fairly well but I was wondering what it would be like after they had my money....would I get decent service?